diamond search learn more kimberley process
Every diamond is unique.
Each reflects the story of its arduous journey from deep inside the earth to a cherished object of adornment.
Yet all diamonds share certain features that allow us to compare and evaluate them. These features are called the 4Cs.
The 4Cs represents the globally accepted standard for describing diamonds: Carat weight, Colour, Clarity, and Cut
carat colour clarity cut shape
what is colour
The GIA colour scale extends from D (colourless) to Z (light yellow or brown). Although many people think of gem quality diamonds as colourless, truly colourless diamonds are very rare. Most diamonds used in jewellery are nearly colourless with tints of yellow or brown. Colour grades are determined by comparing each diamond to a master set. Each letter grade represents a range of colour and is a measure of how noticeable a colour is.
GIA color examples
Some diamonds can emit a visible light when exposed to ultraviolet radiation, but fluorescence is not a factor in determining colour or clarity grades. However, a description of its strength and colour is provided on GIA Reports as an additional identifying characteristic.
Terms & conditions
Privacy policy Sitemap Showroom location Eng Hant Hans Facebook instagram Pinterest